• Welcome to the all-new HUG. All content has been converted from the old system, and over the next days we will re-style HUG in a more familiar way.

Used Compact 7s' Odd Radial Cone - Genuine Radial Cone?

able_cho

Hello from south Korea..
I'm new to HUG, but already owning a pair of P3ESRs, and I also recently bought a pair of used HL Compact 7s.

The problem is, my new bought Compact 7s' radial cones are somewhat "odd" looking. I know I should have checked on these radial cones from the seller's, but I was just so excited about their looks...

Attached are the photos I took. In my understanding, the surrounding of the radial cone should say "HARBETH A2". When I took the woofers out, there were letters saying "HARBETH" on one of the 4 "pillars" that holds the cone on the woofer. I searched on the internet and found out that my Compact 7s' woofers are very similar to C7ES2s' woofers.

Now I'm guessing that my Compact 7s' woofers are replaced... with whether ES2s' woofers or some weird rubber woofer. I would be very sad if they are. Can anyone tell?
By the way, they sound nothing like my P3ESRs - a divine sweetness and cuddling warmth. Well that was my first clue.

Attachments only viewable to members

A.S.

Administrator
Staff member
These are first generation Compact 7s, probably 20+ years old. Everything reported looks perfectly normal.

dhart86

I have a pair of Compact 7 es2 and recently blew a driver(woofer). I was wondering if a replacment driver is availble for my long standing favorite speaker?

able_cho

Thanks for reply, Alan.

Do you mean that there are some old Compact 7s with no letters on the surrounding of the woofers from the production level? It will be a huge relief if that's true.

Otherwise, I am seriously considering letting this old one go and purchasing a new one, but I wanna make sure before..

A.S.

Administrator
Staff member
able_cho said:
Thanks for reply, Alan.